Sharing a workbook

DataLab supports real-time collaboration in notebooks (think Google Docs but for data science) and sharing your workbooks with different access rights.

To share a workbook, click the 'Share' button in the nav bar.

In this modal, you can:

  • Invite specific people to your workbook by using their email

    • The collaborators you add will receive an email with the link to the workbook.

    • Today, you can only invite users that already have a DataCamp account.

    • Your workbook will show up on the dashboard of collaborators you add.

  • Change the workbook visibility

    • Public: the workbook is open to the community. Others can find, view and comment on your workbook.

    • Private: only you and the people you invite have access to the workbook.

  • Group workbooks are private by definition, but you can give access to all members in the group that this workbook is part of (see Personal and group workbook for more info on group workbooks)

Roles

You can give different people (or groups of people) different roles:

  • Viewer - Can read the workbook contents, but cannot make edits, leave comments, execute code or manage sharing settings.

  • Editor - Can read, edit, and execute workbook contents. Can rename, share and publish the workbook.

  • Owner (only the project creator) - Can do everything the editor can do, but can also delete the workbook.

Last updated